You are here: Home » Australia » Ponting is the ICC Player and Captain of the year

Ponting is the ICC Player and Captain of the year

Related Link : Ricky Ponting

Australia’s two times World Cup winning Skipper Ricky Ponting walked with most honours during the fourth ICC Awards which were held at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg. Ricky Ponting for the second year won the Sir Garifield Sobers Trophy which is given for the ICC Player of the year. Not just that Ponting also got the Captain of the year award after his side had lifted the Champions Trophy and the 2007 World Cup along with a whitewash Ashes win of 5-0.

The Australian Skipper was nominated for the Cricketer of the Year award along with Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kevin Pietersen and Mohammad Yousuf. The award was given to Ponting after he had topped the polls of a 56-member voting academy. Ponting received his award from the ICC President Ray Mali and said that it’s a great thrill and that he is very proud of receiving this award. According to him, It’s a great achievement and something that he will probably look back on this in years to come with a lot of pride. He added that he is the first player to win this award twice in a row and maybe if he keeps his head down there might be more around the corner. Ponting had an easy race against Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene as he also got the Captain of the year award. The 56-members who voted included 10 ICC Full Members Captains, the ICC Elite Match Referees and Umpires along with selected former International Cricketers plus a few Media Experts.

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12