You are here: Home » CLT20 2013 » Rajasthan Royals defeat Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets

Rajasthan Royals defeat Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets

Related Link : Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 2013

Hosts Rajasthan Royals defeated Mumbai Indians by 7 wickets (Scorecard) in the CLT20 2013 opener at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Saturday night. It was a comprehensive victory for Rajasthan Royals on a pitch that was conducive for seam bowling especially after a light shower that delayed the start of the match by 15 minutes.

Rajasthan Royals

Rahul Dravid won the toss and asked Mumbai Indians to bat first on a pitch that had moisture. Dravid’s decision of bowling first proved right as Mumbai Indians wobbled at 43 for 4 in 8.1 overs. Skipper Rohit Sharma (44 from 37 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes) and Kieron Polalrd (42 from 36 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes) saved Mumbai Indians from a disaster with their fighting knocks. Mumbai Indians finished at a respectable total of 142 for 7 in 20 overs.

The best bowler for Rajasthan Royals was Vikramjeet Malik with 4-0-24-3. Malik with his swing and seam bowling took the key wickets of Dwayne Smith, Dinesh Karthik and Kieron Pollard. The Himachal Pradesh swing bowler later got the Man of the Match award for this fine effort.

Rajasthan Royals got to the target quite smoothly thanks to the 2nd wicket stand of 74 between opener Ajnikya Rahane (33 from 31 balls) and Wicket Keeper Sanju Samson (54 from 47 balls with 8 fours). Shane Watson (27* from 22 balls) and Stuart Binny (27* from 14 balls) finished the game with fine partnership.


Enhanced by Zemanta

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12