You are here: Home » CLT20 2014 » Kieron Pollard named as Mumbai Indians Captain for CLT20 2014

Kieron Pollard named as Mumbai Indians Captain for CLT20 2014

Related Link: OPPO Champions League T20 2014 Schedule and Scores

Big hitting West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard has been named as the Captain of the Mumbai Indians for the 2014 edition of the Champions League Twenty20. This is after Rohit Sharma, the original Skipper has been ruled out because of a broken finger.

Kieron Pollard photo

It can be recalled that Kieron Pollard had led the Barbados Tridents to championship win in the recently held Caribbean Premier League 2014. It is another matter that Kieron Pollard had opted to play for the Mumbai Indians ahead of his own country Barbados who are represented by the Barbados Tridents in the OPPO Champions League T20 2014.

The Mumbai Indians have won the Champions League T20 two times – in 2011 led by off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and in 2013 when they were led by Rohit Sharma. For some reason, Harbhajan Singh has not been named as the Captain again and neither is Lasith Malinga who has recently captained Sri Lanka in a T20I although he was remote controlled by his senior colleagues Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma has been replaced with Sushant Marathe who is a genuine wicket keeper. Rohit’s absence will cause a huge dent in the batting for the Mumbai Indians. At the same time, Kieron Pollard’s intimidating and towering presence could well be plus for the Mumbai Indians. Nevertheless, it is going to be tough for Mumbai Indians as they will have to qualify into the main tournament for starters!

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12