You are here: Home » CLT20 2014 » OPPO Champions League T20 2014 starts tomorrow at Raipur

OPPO Champions League T20 2014 starts tomorrow at Raipur

The sixth edition of the Champions League Twenty20 will begin tomorrow at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur. The tournament will first have the Qualifying rounds in which four teams fight it out for the two Qualifier spots in the main draw which kicks off on September 17th.

Check here the Full Schedule of OPPO Champions League T20 2014.

CLT20 2014 Photo

OPPO India is the new title sponsor of the Champions League 20-20 which is the tournament of the champions of domestic T20 tournament in various countries. The previous edition of CLT20 was known as the Karbonn Smart CLT20 2013 and the tournament was won by the Mumbai Indians.

This year though the defending champions Mumbai Indians find themselves in the Qualifying race! Mumbai Indians will have to be in the top two teams of the Qualifier round to have a shot at defending the trophy. To make matters more difficult, Mumbai Indians will be without their Skipper Rohit Sharma who is ruled out of action with a broken finger.

The four teams taking part in the Qualifying Round of OPPO CLT20 2014 are: Northern Districts (Champions of the HRV Twenty20 Cup in New Zealand), Southern Express (Champions of the 2014 Super 4’s T20 in Sri Lanka), Mumbai Indians (fourth placed team in IPL 2014 in India) and the Lahore Lions (Champions of the Faysal Bank T20 Cup 2014). Six qualifying matches will be played between September 13th to 16th at Raipur. In the opening qualifying match, Northern Lions take on Southern Express.

The main tournament which begins on 17th of this month will see defending IPL Champions Kolkata Knight Riders take on Chennai Super Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. Ten teams divided in two groups will have a shot at the championship. Below are the teams and their groups:

Group A: Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Perth Scorchers, Dolphins and Qualifier 1

Group B: Kings XI Punjab, Hobart Hurricanes, Cape Cobras, Barbados Tridents and Qualifier 2

A total number of 20 matches will be played in the group stage with each team playing the other four teams once. The top two teams of each Group make it to the Semi Finals which will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on October 2nd. The final of CLT20 2014 will be played on October 4th at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The live telecast of the OPPO Champions League Twenty20 2014 will be shown on Star Sports channels in India.

Well here is the comprehensive list of channels across the world that will be carrying the live ball by ball telecast of the CLT20 2014:

  • SKY TV – New Zealand
  • Star Cricket – South East Asia
  • Astro – Malaysia
  • Star Sports – South Asia
  • Gazi TV – Bangladesh
  • PTV – Pakistan
  • OSN – Middle East and North Africa
  • Supersport – Sub Saharan Africa
  • Eurosport – UK & Europe
  • ESPN – USA, Caribbean & South America
  • Sportsnet – Canada
  • – Rest of the World