You are here: Home » England » England pack Twenty20 Squad with Specialists; Freddie is back

England pack Twenty20 Squad with Specialists; Freddie is back

Related Link : India’s tour of England

England have packed proven specialists in their Twenty20 Squad for the upcoming Twenty20 World Cup in South Africa. The Selectors have also picked a 14-man squad for the first four matches of this month’s NatWest Series against India. All rounder Andrew Flintoff has been named in both these squads along with Ravi Bopara. Both these players have missed out much of the action due to injuries after the World Cup.

Paul Collingwood continues to be England’s Skipper despite the return of Freddie Flintoff. He will be leading England in both ODIs and also Twenty20. Michael Yardy and Jonathan Trott will be making way for Flintoff and Bopara for the NatWest Series. Following his impressive show in the ongoing Test Series against India, Chris Tremlett has forced his way into the One Day team.

The Twenty20 Squad has been dedicated to the so called Specialists according to the Selectors. Six players who have proven themselves at the county level find a place which includes Vikram Solanki, Darren Maddy, James Kirtley, Jeremy Snape, Chris Schofield and Luke Wright. Out of those six players, only Luke Wright is yet to play any ODIs or Tests whereas all the others have had a taste of international cricket.

Along with these two squads, the Selectors have also named a 12-man squad to play the warm-up One Dayers against the touring Indians at Northampton. Some of the Twenty20 players have been given an opportunity in this team to face a quality opposition like India ahead of the World Cup. The squad will be led by Vikram Solanki with Paul Nixon named as the wicket keeper. Ian Bell has also named in this team to warm up before the 7-ODI Series.

England’s ODI Squad : Paul Collingwood (Captain, Durham), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Leicestershire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matthew Prior (Wicket Keeper, Sussex), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Chris Tremlett (Hampshire)

England’s Twenty20 Squad : Paul Collingwood (Captain, Durham), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Stuart Broad (Leicestershire), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), James Kirtley (Sussex), Darren Maddy (Warwickshire), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matthew Prior (Sussex), Chris Schofield (Surrey), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Jeremy Snape (Leicestershire), Vikram Solanki (Worcestershire), Chris Tremlett(Hampshire), Luke Wright (Sussex)

England Lions : Vikram Solanki (Captain), Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, James Kirtley, Jon Lewis, Darren Maddy, Paul Nixon (Wicket Keeper), Chris Schofield, Owais Shah, Jeremy Snape, Luke Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *