You are here: Home » Australia » Aussies capture Series 4-2 at Guwahati

Aussies capture Series 4-2 at Guwahati

Related Links : India Vs Australia 2009/10 | 6th ODI Scorecard

Australia worked their way to the target of 171 losing just four wickets on what was a square turning pitch at the Nehru Stadium in Guwahati. They took their time getting to the target in just less than 42 overs to seal the 7-ODI Series 4-2 with one more match to be played at Mumbai.

The Aussie innings started well with Praveen Kumar and Ashish Nehra straying onto the pads often. It needed a bowling change bringing in Munaf Patel to break the opening stand when Shaun Marsh played right across to get out lbw. It was again the same story in the series with Watson and Ponting defying the Indian bowlers. This time they had a tough battle to face with Ravindra Jadeja turning the ball sharply past the two right handers.

Australia got to 85 on the board in the 19th over when Shane Watson for the second consecutive time top edged a slog sweep off Harbhajan Singh. The all-rounder scored a run-a-ball 49 with 10 fours. Harbhajan got Ricky Ponting (25 from 57 balls) in his next over caught bat pad at short leg to make it 90 for 3. India had come back in the match with that but the spinners couldn’t weave any more magic to run through the rest of the batting. A 53-run stand between Hussey and White (25) took them within striking distance of the target. Mr.Cricket Michael Hussey (35* from 62)finished the game along with Adam Voges (23*)in the 42nd over.

Ravindra Jadeja had a good match following his fifty with his left arm spin but was unlucky not to get a single wicket. Harbhajan could come up with 2 for 23 in his 10. Doug Bollinger who had come up with a 5-wicket haul picked up the Man of the Match.

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12