You are here: Home » Cricket India » BCCI demotes Sehwag, Harbhajan and Laxman to Grade B contracts

BCCI demotes Sehwag, Harbhajan and Laxman to Grade B contracts

The BCCI has reverted back to the Contract Systems which was scrapped after India’s dismal performance during the World Cup. The new graded contracts will be present till September next year. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the new Indian Vice-Captain and Yuvraj Singh have been promoted to Grade A from their previous Grade B while it has been a reverse for Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and VVS Laxman.

The Grade A contracts are enjoyed by seniors – Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble along with Dhoni and Yuvraj. The forgotten Irfan Pathan has been offered with the same Grade B contract which he was holding during the last season. One glaring decision from the Board is for putting Zaheer Khan in Grade C although he has been performing well in his comeback season. The casualty has been Mohammad Kaif whose contract has been removed totally!

Munaf Patel is the new entrant getting the BCCI contract for the first time. He has got a Grade C contract which still includes the young Suresh Raina. Surprisingly Dinesh Karthik hasn’t still got a contract but that is because he has played most of his cricket in this ongoing season. According to the BCCI, the gradation of players in Group A, B and C are based on their performances last season. A Grade ‘A’ player receives an annual amount of Rs.50 lakhs, a Grade ‘B’ gets Rs.35 lakhs and a Grade ‘C’ player gets Rs. 20 lakhs along with the match fees and a share in the BCCI’s profit. The contracts come into consideration from October 1, 2006 to September 30, 2007.

Grade A Contract : Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Anil Kumble, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh

Grade B Contract : Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar

Grade C Contract : Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Sreesanth, Zaheer Khan, Suresh Raina, Munaf Patel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *