You are here: Home » Cricket India » CSK take IPL-3 Title as Mumbai Indians falter in run chase

CSK take IPL-3 Title as Mumbai Indians falter in run chase

Related Links : DLF Indian Premier League (3) 2009/10 | IPL Archives : Indian Premier League – 2Indian Premier League – 1 | Scorecard of Chennai Super Kings Vs Mumbai Indians, Final

Chennai Super Kings won the IPL-3 by defeating first time finalists Mumbai Indians by 22 runs at the DY Patil Stadium. Mumbai Indians put up all the wrong strategy in their run chase of 169 with Skipper Sachin Tendukar playing a slow knock and the destructive Kieron Pollard left with just three overs to bat!

The match was heading towards Mumbai Indians’ way when CSK batting first were pegged back at 67 for 3 before being put back on track by a 72-run stand between Man of the Match Suresh Raina (57* from 35 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes) and Skipper MS Dhoni (22 from 15 balls). Mumbai Indians failed to hold onto their catches especially those presented by Raina and had to pay a heavy price for that. The left hander played his shots to power CSK to 168 for 5. Dilhara Fernando bowled well for Mumbai Indians taking 2 for 23 in 4 overs.

CSK had a great start with the ball as Mumbai Indians through Sachin Tendulkar decided to go cautiously towards the target. That mounted the required run rate to make CSK as the favourites and leave Mumbai Indians with a lot of catching up to do. Sachin after consuming as many as 45 balls fell at the wrong time having scored 48 and holing out to long off. The score at this time was just 99 for 4 in the 15th over.

Strangely, Mumbai Indians were reluctant to send in their destroyer – Kieron Pollard (27 from 10 balls) and because of that lost the match. Except an over which went for 22 runs from Bollinger, CSK were truly in control of the proceedings as Mumbai Indians closed at 146 for 9. All the bowlers did well for CSK which included a best show from Murali who conceded only 17 runs in his 4 overs.

Suresh Raina was given the Man of the Match, Sachin Tendulkar got the Player of the Tournament and Saurabh  Tiwary was the Under-23 Success of the Tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *