You are here: Home » Cricket India » Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar reinforce Team India for SA series

Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar reinforce Team India for SA series

Hardik Pandya has been named in the India ODI squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series at home against South Africa.

The all-rounder has been out of action since September 2019 due to a back injury which forced him to go through a surgery. Should Hardik Pandya bat the way he did prior to his injury and manage to bowl at 140kmph and more, then India will be the favourites to win the ODI series. Sports betting in India has been catching up fast and you can safely put your money on the stronger team to reap rewards.

Also making a comeback after quite sometime is swing bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the recently concluded series against New Zealand also comes back into the team following his recovery from a shoulder injury.

However, Rohit Sharma is yet to recover from a calf injury, which he sustained during the New Zealand tour.

Making way for Bhuvneshwar Kumar is Mumbai’s seamer Shardul Thakur, who had been impressive with his batting abilities lower down the order but with the ball couldn’t make much of an impression. Fast bowler Navdeep Saini though retains his spot thanks to his impressive performance.

Mohammed Shami has missed out on selection, perhaps due to a nasty shoulder blow he took while batting in the second Test against the Kiwis recently.

Mayank Agarwal, who had been great for India in test matches, has been omitted from the ODI squad, while Prithvi Shaw has retained his spot and is expected to partner Shikhar Dhawan as an opener in the place of the injured Rohit Sharma.

Another youngster Shubman Gill, who didn’t get a chance in New Zealand despite being in the squad, has been included in the team to play against South Africa.

Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar reinforce Team India for SA series. Image courtesy of KEVIN STEEL from Pixabay.

The Indian selectors have axed Shivam Dube and Kedar Jadhav, while Rishabh Pant has been retained as the second wicket keeper after Lokesh Rahul.

The three-match ODI series between India and South Africa begins at Dharamsala at the HPCA Stadium on 12 March. The second ODI is at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on 15 March, followed by the third ODI at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 18 March.

South Africa had earlier announced a 15-member squad for the three match ODI series against India which includes former skipper Faf du Plessis, who comes back in the one day team for the first time since the ICC World Cup 2019. Faf du Plessis was rested for South Africa’s ODI series against England and Australia at home.

The Proteas have given a maiden call up to left-arm spinner George Linde who comes in for Tabraiz Shamsi, who is not making the tour due to the birth of his child, announced Cricket South Africa.

All the three ODIs of the India vs South Africa ODI Series 2020 will be day night affairs, which are scheduled to begin at 13:30 local time.

India ODI Squad for South Africa series : Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul (Wicket Keeper), Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, and Shubman Gill

South Africa Squad for ODI Series against India 2020: Quinton de Kock (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, and Janneman Malan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *