You are here: Home » Cricket India » India win the toss and bat first in Ahmedabad Test

India win the toss and bat first in Ahmedabad Test

Related Links : Sri Lanka in India 2009/10 | Scorecard of Day 1 | Live Scorecard and Commentary

India Skipper MS Dhoni correctly called ‘Tails to win the toss in the first Test at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera, Ahmedabad. India have elected to bat first on a good track with decent grass cover to bind the cracks together.

India have omitted Sreesanth, Pragyan Ojha, S Badrinath and Murali Vijay from the playing XI. Sri Lanka are playing with three pacers which includes left armer Chanaka Welegedara and all-rounder Angelo Mathews.  Interestingly Dammika Prasad is playing instead of Nuwan Kulasekara. The big news is that Ajantha Mendis will sit out in favour of left arm spinner Rangana Herath.

India Playing XI : Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Amit Mishra and Ishant Sharma.

Sri Lanka Playing XI : Tharanga Paranavitana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (C), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene (WK), Dammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Muttiah Muralitharan and Chanaka Welegedara

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *