You are here: Home » Bangladesh » Karthik, Tyagi named in 16-man Test Squad

Karthik, Tyagi named in 16-man Test Squad

Related Links : India Tour of Bangladesh 2009/10 | India Player Pages | Archive – India in Bangladesh 2007 | Series Archives

Dinesh Karthik is the reserve wicket keeper for Bangladesh TourDinesh Karthik and Sudeep Tyagi are the only new additions to the India Test Squad. The Selectors have named a 16-man squad for the upcoming 2-Test Series in Bangladesh. Although there was scope for naming younger batsmen since the opposition Bangladesh is a minnow, the Selectors decided to stick with the big three – Tendulkar, Dravid and Laxman with very few Tests in this calendar year.

Dinesh Karthik is the reserve wicket keeper should MS Dhoni have any fitness problems. Sudeep Tyagi is more of an under study with the squad already having Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth and Ishant Sharma. Both Karthik and Tyagi are already in Bangladesh as part of the ODI Squad.

Murali Vijay after a splendid show in the third Test at Mumbai recently has retained his place though he is unlikely to make it in the playing XI. The only player dropped from the last Test Squad is S Badrinath as there is just no room for an extra batsman.

Following is the Squad for the Bangladesh Test Series :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *