You are here: Home » Cricket India » Paranavitana, Sanga punish India again

Paranavitana, Sanga punish India again

Related Links : India’s Tour of Sri Lanka 2010 : India Player Pages : Sri Lanka Player Pages : Scorecard of Sri Lanka Vs India, 2nd Test at SSC, Colombo

Kumar SangakkaraIt was a repeat of the 1st Test for the Indian bowlers with left handers Tharanga Paranavitana and Skipper Kumar Sangakkara punishing them with centuries. The visitors’ chances of leveling the series have been minimized with the Lankans finishing Day 1 of the second Test at SSC on 312 for 2 in 90 overs. Kumar Sangakkara is still unfinished on an unbeaten 130 (from 225 balls with 15 fours).

Tharanga Paranvitana along with fellow opener Tillakaratne Dilshan put on 99 for the 1st wicket in just over 18 overs to set up the initial advantage for the hosts. This was after Sangakkara had won the toss and elected to bat first on a placid slow track at the Sinhalese Sports Ground under hot conditions. India were lucky to dismiss Dilshan for a 42-ball 54 (with 10 fours) when he stepped out and drove the harmless Pragyan Ojha to Laxman at short covers.

India then ran into a 174-run stand between Paranavitana and Sangakkara which was broken only in the final session. Paranavitana after registering his second Test hundred chopped his cut shot onto the leg stump off Ishant Sharma. His 100 came in 221 balls with 10 fours and a six. For Sangakkara, it was a 23rd Test hundred, five of which have come against India itself! The Lankan Skipper lost the tempo towards the end of the day’s play with Mahela Jayawardene batting out 56 balls for his unbeaten 13.

Both sides made changes to their line-ups. India made two with Gautam Gambhir out with a knee problem and Yuvraj Singh having fever. Murali Vijay was picked to replaced Gambhir while Suresh Raina created a record by playing the most ODIs (98) before making his Test Debut. Sri Lanka left out Rangana Herath and Chanaka Welegedara to bring in Ajantha Mendis and Dammika Prasad. Dilhara Fernando replaced the rested Lasith Malinga while the tall offie Suraj Randiv filled in for the retired Muralitharan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *