You are here: Home » England » Collingwood is England’s new One Day Captain

Collingwood is England’s new One Day Captain

Related Link : West Indies in England 2007

Paul Collingwood as expected has been named as England’s new ODI Captain replacing Michael Vaughan who had stood down from the job. The Selectors have dropped Michael Vaughan and Andrew Strauss in a new looking 14-man squad that will be facing West Indies in a 3-ODI Series.

The English Selectors have gone in for two new faces in Dimitri Mascarenhas from Hampshire and Jonathan Trott from Warwickshire, Both these players are more than useful all rounders. The wicket keeper race has been won by Matt Prior as the selectors overlooked the fighting knocks played by Paul Nixon whenever he wore an England Cap since the last season. Both Ravi Bopara and Sajid Mahmood are missing because of their injuries.

Following their good show in the Test Series, Alastair Cook and Ryan Sidebottom have forced their way into this One Day Squad. This will be the first time that Paul Collingwood gets to lead the England team. He is the most experienced player among the current lot of English players although he has played just the 121 ODIs which is hardly anything compared to players from other cricketing nations!

England One Day Squad : Paul Collingwood (Captain), Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Michael Yardy, Owais Shah, Matt Prior (Wicket Keeper), Liam Plunkett, Jonathan Trott, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Monty Panesar, Ryan Sidebottom, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *