You are here: Home » England » Gayle is West Indies’ One Day Captain

Gayle is West Indies’ One Day Captain

Related Link : West Indies in England 2007

Chris Gayle as expected has been named as the Captain of the West Indies One Day Team. There is no place for Daren Ganga, the Test Captain although it is learnt that this was against the Board’s wish. The Board wanted Daren Ganga to be the Captain for the One Dayers but the Selectors have thought otherwise. Gayle has so far captained the West Indies in a One Day International against India before the World Cup.

In the 14-man squad, two important names are missing that of pacers Jerome Taylor and Corey Collymore. Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith and newbie batsman Austin Richards from Antigua are the three players who will be joining for the One Dayers. Daren Ganga and Sylvester Joseph are the two batsmen returning home after the fourth test along with Collymore and Taylor. West Indies will be playing two Twenty20 matches along with five ODIs against England which is followed with a Quadrangular Series in Ireland with the other three teams being the hosts Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland.

West Indies One Day Squad : Chris Gayle (Captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Devon Smith, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Austin Richards, Denesh Ramdin (Wicket Keeper), Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy, Daren Powell and Fidel Edwards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *