You are here: Home » Australia » West Indies hold on for a draw in the Second Test

West Indies hold on for a draw in the Second Test

Related Links : Australia’s Tour of West Indies 2008 Scorecard

The Guyanese pair of Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan came good twice with the bat to ensure that the West Indies drew the second Test of the The Frank Worrell Trophy. In what was the first ever Test played at the Sir Viv Richards Stadium in North Sound, Antigua, weather interruptions and the sloppy drainage system took off a significant amount of time in the 5 days. The Test Match saw the Australian Captain enter into the Elite 10,000-run club to join Gavaskar, Border, Tendulkar, Lara, Steve Waugh and Dravid.

Australia had won the toss and decided to bat first against a West Indian attack that was strengthened by the inclusion of Jerome Taylor. The Aussies had a good opening day losing just three wickets while their scoring rate wasn’t matching the usual high standards. They closed the first day at 259 for 3 riding on Opener Simon Katich’s unbeaten hundred. On the second day, the other overnight batsman – Michael Clarke went onto score his hundred and the Aussies declared their first innings at 479 for 7 in 136 overs. Simon Katich had made 113 (from 248 balls with 9 fours) and Michael Clarke, the other centurion made 110 (from 187 balls with 12 fours). There were also half centuries from Ricky Ponting (65 from 123 balls with 5 fours) and Brett Lee (an unbeaten 63 from 82 balls with 8 fours and a six). Jerome Taylor took 3 wickets for the West Indies.

By close of play on the second day, Windies found themselves at 125 for 3 after a promising innings from opener Xavier Marshall (53 from 69 balls with 8 fours). Day three had very little in store for both teams with rain batting out the first two sessions. In the little play that was possible, West Indies did well losing just the wicket of Sarwan (65 from 146 balls with 4 fours and a six). The homeside was sitting well at 255 for 4 with Chanderpaul and Bravo in a nice partnership. The next day, Brett Lee got charged up to take 5 wickets in quick succession to have Windies collapse from 314 for 4 to 341 for 9! Bravo was the first to be dismissed on Day 4 after making 45 (from 127 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes). Towards the end, Shivnarine Chanderpaul was left stranded on an unbeaten 107 (from 236 balls with 12 fours). West Indies got bowled out for 352 with their innings lasting 107 overs. Brett Lee’s figures were 21-7-59-5 while Mitchell Johnson and Michael Clarke chipped in with a couple of wickets.

By the close of play on the fourth day, the Aussies got themselves enough runs on the board to set up a target and thus giving themselves an opportunity of taking 10 wickets on the final day. Australia had scored 244 for 6 in less than 62 overs to give a target of 372. This time around, Phil Jaques got going with 76 (from 136 balls with 8 fours and a six) while getting good company from makeshift opener Mike Hussey, who made 40. Ponting with 38 and Symonds with an unbeaten 43 were the other two significant contributors.

The final day started with Lee and Clark sending back both openers to create pressure on the West Indies. However, Sarwan (128 from 241 balls with 18 fours and a six) defied their hopes with the match saving partnership of 133 along with Chanderpaul (77 not out from 180 balls with 8 fours) which had lasted 53 overs. West Indies bravely fought out with no rain interruption surviving 93 overs and losing five wickets for 266. Shivnarine Chanderpaul was the obvious choice for the Man of the Match award.

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12