You are here: Home » International Cricket Council » Kenya’s Odoyo, Women Cricketer Goswami and Umpire Taufel honoured

Kenya’s Odoyo, Women Cricketer Goswami and Umpire Taufel honoured

Thomas Odoyo, the Kenyan all rounder was named as the ‘Associate Player of the Year’. This was the first time in four years that such an award has been given by the ICC. Ododyo won the race for the award ahead of Canada’s Ashish Bagai, Netherland’s Ryan ten Doeschate and his skipper Steve Tikolo.

The only award winner from India happened to be the lesser known Jhulan Goswami who bagged the ‘Women Cricketer of the Year’. The 23-year-old lady from Bengal is reckoned to be the fastest bowler in Women’s cricket. Goswami received the award from India’s Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni! The other nominees for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year are Lisa Sthalekar (Australia) and Claire Taylor (England). This was the just the second year that the ICC has put up an award for women cricketers.

Australia’s Simon Taufel for the fourth time in a row walked away with the ‘Umpire of the Year’ award. It is a great achievement for an Umpire who is just 36 years of age! His competition was with England’s Mark Benson, West Indies’ Steve Bucknor and another Australian Daryl Harper.

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/wp-content/themes/wiles/inc/related-posts.php on line 12