You are here: Home » CLT20 2013 » Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Faisalabad Wolves by 7 wickets

Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Faisalabad Wolves by 7 wickets

Related Link : Karbonn Smart Champions League Twenty20 2013

It was a one-sided affair in the Qualifying Match of CLT20 2013 between the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Faisalabad Wolves at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Thursday night. Sunrisers cruised through to a 7-wicket win (Scorecard) with 2.3 overs to spare and with a second straight win have qualified for the main tournament. Faisalabad Wolves and Kandurata Maroons are now out of the Champions League following their two defeats in a row.

Amit Mishra | Sunrisers Hyderabad

Amit Mishra of Sunrisers Hyderabad was the Man of the Match

Sunrisers deciding to bowl first after winning the toss, restricted the Faisalabad Wolves to a below par total of 127 for 5 in 20 overs. Barring Skipper Misbah-ul-Haq, none of the Faisalabad Wolves’ batsmen had any answers to the Sunrisers’ bowlers. Misbah was the lone man putting up a fight with his unbeaten 56 from 40 balls with a four and 5 sixes. Opener Ammar Mahmood was the second highest scorer but with a slow 31 from 38 balls.

While Dale Steyn and Ishant Sharma bowled well at the start, it was the leg-spinning duo of Amit Mishra and Karan Sharma that changed the complexion of the Wolves’ innings. Mishra bagged figures of 4-1-13-1 which would later get him the Man of the Match award. Karan Sharma bowled 2 overs for 13 runs with a wicket before he was taken out of the attack to protect from Misbah.

There was no fuss at all in the run chase for Sunrisers Hyderabad with its openers Parthiv Patel (23 from 21 balls) and Skipper Shikhar Dhawan easing out 68 on the board for the first wicket in 8.5 overs. Dhawan scored his second fifty in as many matches of this tournament. The left-hander scored 59 from 50 balls with 6 fours and a six.



Enhanced by Zemanta