You are here: Home » Australia » Blues first into Twenty20 Champions League Final

Blues first into Twenty20 Champions League Final

Related Links : Champions League Twenty20 2009 | Scorecard

NSW has bludgeoned Victoria into submission with a massive 79 run win in their semi-final. They are the first team into the Champions League final and await the winner of the Trinidad and Tobago and Cape Cobras match to see who their next opponent will be.

The two long time bitter rivals both badly wanted to win this match and NSW had the upper hand the moment they won the toss. When they posted 169, Victoria had next to no chance of chasing that down on the difficult Delhi pitch.

Phil Hughes and Dave Warne got NSW onto a brisk start until Warner was run-out. Contributions from Daniel Smith, Simon Katich and Ben Rohrer took NSW onto the very healthy title. All of the Victorian bowlers suffered but Clint McKay with 3/23 was the pick of them.

Victoria’s difficult assignment became impossible when Nathan Hauritz dismissed both Rob Quiney and Brad Hodge in the second over. When David Hussey went it was 4/32 and that was that.

NSW win at least $1.3 million for making the final and this doubles to $2.5 million should they win the final. Cricket betting has them as the favourite to win the final regardless of who they play.

NSW have now won their last three competitive Twenty20 matches against Victoria and you can be assured that they won’t let the Victorians forget it.

David Wiseman writes about cricket as well as the Melbourne Cup.