You are here: Home » Bangladesh » Tendulkar out, Yuvraj in for Bangladesh Tri-Series

Tendulkar out, Yuvraj in for Bangladesh Tri-Series

Related Links : The Idea Cup 2010 | India Player Pages | Series Archives

Sachin Tendulkar has been rested for next month’s Tri-Series in Bangladesh. Sachin’s place has gone to Rohit Sharma who had cracked a triple hundred for Mumbai recently. Yuvraj Singh, who was ruled out in the last two games of the ongoing series against Sri Lanka, has been declared fit and is named in the 16-man squad.

There have been a few changes in the bowling line up with Sreesanth returning back after an absence due to Swine Flu. He takes the place of Ishant Sharma. Bengal’s fast bowler Ashok Dinda comes in for medium pacer Praveen Kumar. Dinda faces competition from another rookie Sudeep Tyagi but both stand a chance of playing in the tournament atleast against the weaker Bangladesh.

The Selectors due to the good bowling show from left arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja have been forced to replace Pragyan Ojha with leg spinner Amit Mishra. There were reports that Harbhajan Singh was likely to be rested but the offie has been named in the squad.

Amongst the batsmen, Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik who have put on impressive performances in the last few matches have also been included.

The Tri-Series begins on the 4th of January. India plays its first match on the 5th against Sri Lanka. Each team gets to play four matches before the finalists are decided.

India Squad for the Bangladesh Tri-Series : MS Dhoni (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Dinesh Karthik (Wicket Keeper), Sreesanth, Ashok Dinda, Sudeep Tyagi and Amit Mishra